Reviews

We Value Your Opinion

To see more of our reviews, or leave a review of our services, please click the button below

Please click here to view our 5 star Google reviews


Thea Hollebon | January 2016 |

“I have used Mick Birch as my plumber for several years now and he has always supplied a first- rate service. He is an excellent tradesman, being highly-skilled and somewhat of a perfectionist with his attitude to his handiwork. He recently installed a new radiator for me and relocated an old one, fitting around my tight time frame which was dependent on plasterers and carpet fitters. I have recommended him to my friends looking for a reliable plumber on several occasions and I know I can ask him for ideas and thoughts regarding the best possible solution to any plumbing requirement. He is a very likable, honest and trustworthy professional who I am glad to have employed to meet my home’s needs. I wouldn’t hesitate to ask him to do any future plumbing as his past handiwork is a testament to his thorough workmanship. Anthony Hollebon”


Robyn Hyson | January 2016 |

“Mick has been out to help me quite a few times. He has always gone the extra mile to explain the options and make sure you understand everything. He will always make time for you if it is an emergency and even if it isn’t, he is always there in good time. Excellent at his job and great prices. Thank you Mick for the great work and excellent sense of humour!”


Hayley Clark | January 2016 |

“Mick has done various jobs for us over the past few years and he has always been efficient, professional, helpful and a great laugh to have around! Mick is incredibly knowledgable and always ensures he takes you through what ever work he is doing. I would not hesitate in the slightest to recommend Mick to anyone looking for a honest and reliable tradesman. He is also great with ALL family members!”


David Robinson | January 2016 |

“Mick installed a new bathroom, with travetine tiling, and shower room for us and did a fantastic job. Not only did he demonstrate a very high level of skill in the execution of the two projects but he put in a lot of hours to complete the work in a short time frame. He clearly is a perfectionist and goes the extra mile to ensure the job is first class. Money well spent. Thanks, Mick”


Antony Mitchell | January 2016 |

“Mick installed my boiler about 10 months ago. Great guy with a fantastic personality. He was very open and honest about what was required and I have never regretted employing him. He has ‘popped around’ a couple of times while in the area, just to check all was ok. Last week I had a small problem that I had inadvertently caused myself. Mick was around within an hour (he had nearly finished another job relatively close bye) and soon traced the source of my stupidity. I his own inimitable way, he showed me, where I had gone wrong he left with us both sharing a joke about it. I would heartily recommend Mick to anyone looking for any plumbing work to be done.”


Gary Richards | January 2016 |

“Great guy he worked very hard to get the work done,and he was very reasonably priced compared to some others and very professional, I have used mick several times, he is fair and honest, it’s very hard to find this in trades people now days he is also very reliable. I never hesitate to use him when needed and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him. You will not need disappointed.”


Peter Davis | January 2016 |

“Great service, bathroom looks amazing, I am more than happy with the price and very reasonable. I will definitely use Mr Birch again. I have already recommended him to friends.”


Karen Mason | January 2016 |

“I asked Mick to come and service my boiler and he took one look at it and said I needed a new one. He wasn’t just getting work for himself he showed me all what was wrong. Leaking carbon monoxide was only one of them. He priced up the job, got the new boiler and installed within a couple of weeks. He was great to have around. Him and my dog Max got on brilliantly. As I was having a combi boiler I didn’t need a hot water tank any more so he removed it and put in a radiator so I could still have an airing cupboard. Would recommend Mick any time.”


Merien Hicks | January 2016 |

“Mick Birch serviced our boiler this morning after we had let this lapse. He got straight on with the job with a smile and explained the job in a simple to understand (no jargon) way. He was extremely friendly, efficient, clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend to my friends and family and will be keeping up with the annual servicing from now on with him.”


David Platt | January 2016 |

“We have used Mick to help us out with our plumbing problems before, and we were very happy to have him back this January to do some more work on our house. It was a tricky job that required going into the walls, but Mick is a pro, and he completed the job very quickly and tidily, to a very high level of finish. We are very happy with the result and would highly recommend him.”


Jane Paul | January 2016 |

“We have used Mick lots of times in the past and have found his service second to none.

The most recent time was to fit us a brand new oil fired central heating system when our old oil boiler gave up the ghost.

Mick is a very knowledgeable Plumber who takes his time to explain the available options and always goes that bit further to give the customer what they want. We wouldn’t use anyone else.”


DaveanMich | Sunday, November 15 2015, 1:05PM |

“Need a good plumber? then Mick is the man to go to.

We had ongoing problems with our boiler and Mick sorted it all out quickly and efficiently. He explained what needed to be done and why, and his pricing was fair. Mick was helpful, reliable and conscientious, and like the previous reviews have said, he has a great sense of humour. Not sure if I want to broadcast him to much though, as he will be so busy he wont have time for us! Thanks Mick.”


Simco | Friday, November 06 2015, 2:03PM |

“Great bloke, great sense of humour

Mick has done several bits of work for us boiler repairs/servicing, cloak room and most resently our bathroom. Mick is a pleasure to have around, he works very hard dealing with all problems head on and solves them quickly and to a high standard, leaving the area clean and tidy. Mick is honest, and trustworthy and has a wicked sense of humour. 😂”


Saffa81 | Wednesday, November 04 2015, 2:49PM |

“Honest, reliable, great sense of humour, great with babies and pets!

We have had Mick round a few times of the past year or so and we couldn’t recommend him highly enough. He has serviced our boiler and done some repairs here and there. He has always been honest with us and takes the time to explain anything that has needed clarifying. Mick is always great value to have around. Despite being a busy man he always has time to fit us in when needed. We wouldn’t use anyone else.”


ClayPirate | Tuesday, October 27 2015, 5:18PM |

“Mick Birch Plumbing

We’ve only had Mick round a couple of times, the first time was to fix a faulty boiler which he was able to do very quickly and efficiently and the second time was to service said boiler, though there wasn’t a lot to do as he’d done such a good job the first visit! Mick’s a real nice guy, always got a smile and really knows his stuff, he can fill you in on what he’s doing with an easy to understand chat over a brew (milk 2 sugars!) A real pleasure to have round I’d definitely recommend him to anyone for prompt professional plumbing!”


CottageOwner | Thursday, October 08 2015, 5:44PM | Highly recommended

“I was impressed by Mick’s thoroughness and diligence when he fitted a new boiler in our holiday let. He took time to fully understand the requirements and helped to ensure that the guests could readily understand the controls. He was polite and tidy and worked to the pre-agreed timeframes with no hassle. I could not have asked for any more.”


Tamsinrule | Monday, October 05 2015, 5:17PM | Report

“Mick birch plumbing and heating- super quick response time

Mick came around almost instantly when I phone! Talked us through all the options and told us honestly the issues we could face with our ancient oil boiler. He quickly fitted a new boiler for us. Great to have heating and hot water…would recommend and will use again.”


AntHollebon | Friday, August 21 2015, 10:05AM | Report

“Top bloke, great sense of humour, fantastic work, great prices!

Mick is a hard working, reliable plumber with a great sense of humour. I would have no trouble in recommending him to anyone needing plumbing work doing. He worked his busy schedule around me, a plasterer and a carpet fitter so everything coordinated perfectly. That really impressed me a lot – his dedication to customer needs. I wont be using anyone else but Mick!”


Rojankib | Wednesday, June 17 2015, 10:00AM | Report

“Mick is reliable hardworking and completely professional. His advice was invaluable in solving our problems quickly and efficiently. Mick is extremely friendly and cheerful obviously taking great pleasure and pride in his work. Nothing is too much trouble for Mick and we will have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone wanting a first class job done at a first class price.”


Nbray | Thursday, April 23 2015, 8:05PM | Report

“Good Bloke with great workmanship

We needed new radiators and also a pump Mick came had a look and said he could do it, he hardly ever had a break and worked really hard he cleaned up after also. He had great sense of humour and liked to sing also shows that someone is happy in their work.”


Spudabub | Sunday, April 19 2015, 2:20PM | Report

“Great Plumber with fantastic sense of Humour.

Our boiler packed up, and after speaking to Mick, asked him to organise a new one. This was after we weighed up the pro/cons of trying to repair my existing 11 year old one. An instantly likeable guy, Mick costed up and made his reccomendation for the new boiler and because of our predicament, fitted us in ASAP. Even though I was around to hinder him, he kept his cool, politely reminding me, when it was time to get him a cup of Tea. (1.5 sugars)! Seriously though, he hardly ever stopped working and on the odd break, was always thinking of solutions to any unforseen obstacle. All work was done on time and very tidily. He is happy to answer any queries any time, and I would happily reccomend him to anyone. Getting to the nitty gritty, I don’t feel that i’ve just found a plumber, but a friend also.”


Hyson | Sunday, April 12 2015, 4:07PM | Report

“Excellent service and a refreshingly honest tradesman

Had a problem with our boiler and Mick came to have a look. He was honest from the beginning, saying he would try to get the boiler working but as it was very old he may not be able to get the part and even if he could it may not solve the issue. He managed to get the part but our prehistoric boiler was finished. Mick went through our options for a new boiler and was more than happy to answer any questions. He installed it all in a few days and it’s now working great! Will always be using him as our plumber. Such a lovely man. Thanks Mick.”


Tma3011 | Wednesday, March 25 2015, 10:15PM | Report

“Top guy – very pleased with his work

Our oil boiler just suddenly stopped working one day and despite my best efforts I couldn’t get it firing up. A quick Google of local tradesmen led me to Mick and so glad I followed it through. He called the very next day to get boiler working, then returned a few days later to do a full service. Competitive rates, very friendly chap, will definitely be using him again.”


Stuart916 | Wednesday, March 18 2015, 8:57PM | Report

“Highly Recommended! Top service, honest tradesman.

My Oil boiler started playing up and my usual engineer had been messing me around for a month over this winter leaving us without heating. I thought i’d try someone differet and im glad i chose Mick, phoned him at around 8pm one evening and by 4pm the next day! Mick had been and sorted the boiler, keeping me updated along the way with his progress. A top bloke and a quality service. Really honest chap that gave me all my options before charging in and genuinely looked as if he enjoys getting your boiler working perfectly which you cannot ask any more of. I will always use Mick from now on and i highly recommend anyone else do the same. Thanks Mick! :)”


Farthings21 | Friday, January 02 2015, 12:35PM | Report

“Power to the shower

Called Mick about an issue we were having with our shower. After a phone call and brief visit he diagnosed the problem and ordered the parts. On arrival these were then fitted and some alterations made so that the same job would be easier to rectify another time. Thanks Mick, the shower is now working better than ever thanks to your efficient and thorough work. It is so nice to be able to welcome such a polite and well mannered person into your home no matter what time of day.”


Froghouse | Monday, December 29 2014, 6:22PM | Report

“Excellent service, reasonable price, fabulous guy

Wanted our one year old boiler serviced as we felt it was using a lot of oil. Within hours Mick arrived and then spent four hours sorting out a badly set up boiler, which now should save us fuel. Instead of the one hour priced job, it took so much longer but he only charged us the rate for the usual one hour. Such a professional, friendly and efficient man, we will be using him in future for all our boiler, central heating and any plumbing issues. Makes a nice change to have someone turn up immediately and do what he says he will do. Excellent service, all round nice guy.”


nus042 | Monday, July 21 2014, 11:38AM | Report

“A Godsend! Highly Recommended

I live in Manchester, and needed to help my Mum, who lives in Cornwall, get a repair asessed and resolved as a mater of urgency, 2 days prior to me leaving the country for a fortnight – Very stressful! Mick was exceptionally helpful and friendly on the phone, and hugely accommadating of the unusual circumstances (having to negotiate the assessment, quote, work and payment over the phone with a stranger over 300 miles away!). He visited my Mum’s property first thing the next day, provided me with a solution and breakdown of the work on the same day and undertook the work 3 days later. My Mum lives on her own and has had some very negative experiences of workmen in her home. She found Mick and his Son to be respectful and considerate, they arrived early and completed the job in as timeley a manner as possible to ensure minimal disruption, as well as ensuring that they cleaned up after themselves. Since completing this work Mick has also been very helpful in terms of reporting wider issues to the freehold landlord and providing afercare advice. It is always such a worry for me when things go wrong in my Mum’s property, with living so far away; I can’t say what a relief it was to be able to deal with someone who was so helpful, understanding of my Mum’s circumstances, professional, prompt and reliable.”


Valvenner7a | Wednesday, July 09 2014, 4:34PM | Report

“Best service, great man and brillant work

Highly recommended, mick and his son are lovely, friendly people who have recently re done my old shower and tiles the service is excellent, mick is a perfectionist at his work and will help anyway he can, thanks again mick im sure ill see you in the near future.”


MikeWestlake | Tuesday, March 18 2014, 11:59AM | Report

“Mick saved the day

We now live in Australia, but still have a house in Cornwall. Unfortunately the heating boiler failed big time and needed to be replaced.We had no idea what to do or who to contact being so far away, fortunately our son new Mick through his son and thank goodness for the connection. As from the first phone call to Mick right through the whole job being completed within a week, including the removal of the boiler, radiators, ordering the replacements and fitting a new system. All through the process Mick kept us up to speed every step of the way by email. We would not hesitate to recommend Mick to anyone as he is honest, hard working, professional and also very knowledgeable. He was also a great communicator and trustworthy which was absolutely necessary for us being so far away and feeling helpless. We are happy to say the house is now warm and safe and the only regret is that we are not over there at the moment enjoying the benefits of the new system. Thanks Mick for everything. Mike and Jude Westlake.”


Garyrichards | Sunday, February 23 2014, 1:22PM | Report

“Central heating system

I’d like to tell everyone what a great job Mick did installing our new heating system. Mick was chosen because he’s never let us down and gets on with the job. The fantastic price was just a bonus!!! Before moving to Cornwall I had the same job in my house up country from Britain’s bigest gas fitters and mick was more than half the price cheaper. Don’t waste anymore of your time just call Mick and consider the job done. Thanks again Mick, Gary and Pete.”


Paranoid | Wednesday, February 19 2014, 11:30AM | Report

“Seems to relish a challenge

and he got it with the ancient plumbing in my old cottage. The end result is very professional looking pipework and a hot water tank that does what it should . Mick turned up on time every time. He is a good communicator and good company.I recommend him.”